Wonderlust

Music is Crucial.

Posted on: August 22, 2011

This. Coming from no other than my big man Palahniuk.

Have you ever felt that a certain song, it’s music and lyrics, have come to describe exactly how you are feeling during a moment in your life? Like some serendipitous moment, when you, and the song writer, and everyone who has put their heart into writing that one song, has shared a moment? In this planet of about a population of five billion, this could mean that you’ve shared a moment with a million people, with just one song — a woman you’ve bumped into on the way to work, a man who happened to be listening to the song playing on the radio, and about countless more you’ll never meet in this lifetime. Crazy.

As for me, music drives me. I personally look for the perfect song to motivate myself to work! About a year and a half ago, I was reviewing for the nursing licensure exam, and the only goal I had during that time was to top the boards. This might sound funny, but I had a theme song back then, which was a song I just happened to hear on TV. Surely you’re familiar with these lines:

You’re a good soldier
Choosing your battles
Pick yourself up
And dust yourself off
And back in the saddle

You’re on the frontline
Everyone’s watching
You know it’s serious
We’re getting closer
This isnt over

The pressure is on
You feel it
But you’ve got it all
Believe it

When you fall get up
Oh oh…
And if you fall get up
Oh oh…

{omitting the parts i don’t understand ;P }

Your time to shine
Dont wait in line
Y vamos por Todo

People are raising
Their Expectations
Go on and feed them
This is your moment
No hesitations

Today’s your day
I feel it
You paved the way
Believe it

If you get down
Get up Oh oh…
When you get down
Get up eh eh…

As weird as it may sound, that was a really important moment for me! I used to be a bad student back in college and all I did was mess things up. Music did work to my advantage as I claimed the 8th spot in the top ranking examinees of the NLE.

And recently, I noticed that during the whole hour I spend on the treadmill when I go to the gym, fast, upbeat music keep me running, while slower ones make me feel so tamad. The music dictates my pace.

^Here’s my partner in crime — My Skullcandy headphones my boyfriend got me for my birthday. I love it to bits, but I know that an Audio-Technica M50, which I’ve been eyeing for sometime now, pwns my current headphone.

How about you? Has music changed your life? I know it has been making my life travel a fun one, no matter the humps or the traffic, the roadblocks or detour, music will always be there to keep me going! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

MissKatv’s Sigma Giveaway

Sarah’s Sigma Giveaway!

