Wonderlust

My Shirt Story

Posted on: August 30, 2011

Of the numerous shirts I have owned in my life, this has got to be one of my most! favorite shirts as I have shared a lot of experiences with this one.

This is a Carl Balita Review Center shirt, one which they usually give out as part of a kit when you enroll for their Nursing Licensure Exam Review. Thousands of people were given this same shirt, as each of those thousands prepared to take the biggest board exam of their life: the Nursing Licensure Exam, which will determine a nursing graduate’s career.

My shirt has seen me through sleepless nights of reviewing, days filled with anxiety waiting for the day of the exam, and after which, more days of anxiety filled with uncertainty for the results. The wait has become very painful, and all we had to do while waiting for the results was pray.

It was on August 27 that I received a call which revealed that I had passed the board exams with flying colors, and even ranked eighth! Never in my life would I have imagined ranking in that board exam, where almost ninety two thousand other hopefuls had taken it in order to claim their license. It was the end of the beginning, yet the beginning of more things to come.

Because of my success in the board exam, I was employed by my said review center to become a researcher for them, helping them make test and lecture materials. As a placer in the board exam, I am sometimes invited, together with the other topnotchers, to go on out of town trips and to motivate students to become the best that they can be.


Here we are shooting a commercial for the said review center

Sir Carl(left) and me (second from far right) with my three other co-topnotchers

Wearing this shirt, I got to travel to a lot of places. One of those places was Legazpi City. I’ve never been to Legazpi before.


I also got to try out something I’ve never done before — Wakeboarding! We went wakeboarding at Cam Sur Water Sports Complex. And yes, me, wearing the same shirt


More importantly, more than all these experiences combined, the most uplifting of them all is that, while wearing the same blue shirt, I was able to reach out to so many young hopefuls, working their way to become nurses in their own right. I was able to share my special story of failure-turned-success, from a real zero to hero, and have become a source of inspiration to most of them. These shirt has seen my moments of struggles, as well as moments of triumph.

I love this shirt! Now I want someone else to love it too! I support the Electrolux Washathon Clothes Donation Advocacy.

3 Responses to "My Shirt Story"

You posted it already. I hope you win the contest. You definitely deserve it. It’s a nice story 🙂

Touching story anak, always remember papa and I will always be here for you. you’ve achieved so much already han, and you always make us proud.

I love you shirt, as well as your story. god bless

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

MissKatv’s Sigma Giveaway

Sarah’s Sigma Giveaway!

